Make the Wise Choice!
What are the Penalties for DUI in California?
Were you arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in California? DUI is one of the more common criminal offenses in the entire state. If you are found to be driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or above, you could be immediately placed under arrest for DUI. Even if your BAC is below this amount, you could still be placed under arrest if the police officer determines that your driving was considerably impaired by drinking or substance use. So just what are the possible penalties you could be facing following a DUI conviction?
The penalties for DUI vary depending on the type of offense. For example, for a first DUI conviction, you could be placed on probation for up to five years. Not only that, but you could be facing up to six months in jail and pay fines of up to $1,000. For a second DUI conviction, the penalties could increase. You could be facing up to one year in a county jail as well as $1,000 in fines. You could also lose your driving privileges for up to two years.
Both of these offenses are categorized as misdemeanors. If, however, you are convicted of a felony DUI, the consequences will be more severe. A felony DUI conviction could result in up to three years in a California State Prison as well as up to $1,000 in fines. You could also have your license revoked for up to four years and be designated as an HTO (habitual traffic offender). If you have been accused of driving under the influence of alcohol, please contact a member of our team as soon as possible. A Sacramento DUI lawyer from our firm could defend you and seek to ensure that you do not have to face these types of penalties.